Next Event
Indian Wells, CA - Mar 2 - 8, 2020

Intriguing Mix of New Faces, American Stalwarts Highlight Men’s Draw

Oracle Challenger Series
Sep 1, 2019

The eagerly anticipated kick-off of the Oracle Challenger Series New Haven is less than 24 hours away, and to make the wait just a little bit easier, let’s take a look at the men’s main draw, which features a talented mix of international veterans and up-and-coming, home-grown players eager for a break-through. The first stop on the Road to Indian Wells is about to get underway, so let’s get to it.

World No. 77 Andreas Seppi returns to the Oracle Challenger Series as the No. 1 overall seed. Seppi – who owns three career ATP Tour titles – was also the top overall seed in last year’s Chicago event, but was upset in the first round by the unseeded Alexander Sarkissian. Canadian and No. 99 ranked Brayden Schnur – a finalist at the Newport Beach event earlier this year – is the No. 2 seed; while No. 3 seed Damir Dzumhur rounds out the trio of top-100 players in the draw. No. 4 seeded Bradley Klahn is the top-seeded American in the draw. Klahn – the champion in Houston last November – will take on the winner of Ulises Blanch and Yosuke Watanuki in the second round.

Americans Denis Kudla and Tommy Paul are seeded fifth and sixth, respectively, while ninth-seeded Marcos Giron; No. 13 Mitchell Krueger and No. 15 Christopher Eubanks round out the list of seeded Americans. 2018 Chicago champion Denis Istomin is the No. 8 seed.

With a blank slate on the Road to Indian Wells Leaderboard, all 25 Americans in the main draw will look to get off to a hot start and position themselves to earn one of the two wild cards up for grabs into the 2020 BNP Paribas Open. 2019 wild card recipient Donald Young will begin his quest for a repeat against Canadian Filip Peliwo; and Houston runner-up Roy Smith will look to establish a strong position on the Leaderboard with a first round match against a to-be-determined qualifier. Other Oracle Challenger Series veterans in the draw include Noah Rubin, Ernesto Escobedo, Thai-Son Kwiatkowski and J.C. Aragone – who won the doubles title in Indian Wells earlier this year alongside partner Giron.

Current Yale senior Dylan King will make his debut in the professional ranks, as he was awarded a main draw wild card into the event. He will take on fellow wild card recipient and three-time ITF winner Petros Chrysochos in the first round.

Recent news